CI Sports Personality of the Year: Who will the public choose?

Other Sport | Published:

JERSEY’S hopes of claiming a third CI Sports Personality of the Year Award in four years rest on the shoulders of Alex Coleborn and Lucy O’Sullivan tonight, as the annual celebration of achievement returns to Beau Séjour.

Following landmark individual displays as far afield as China and Mexico, the Caesarean pair are on a four-strong short-list to collect the Channel Islands’ top honour for 2017, and will be relying on public votes to steer them to victory ahead of Guernsey’s Great Britain athlete Cameron Chalmers, boxer Billy Le Poullain and, of course, each other.

Sark’s Olympic dressage medallist Carl Hester won the award 12 months ago for his performance at Rio 2016 – after Team Jets’ Lauren Devine and Jersey cricketer Jonty Jenner took centre stage for 2014 and 2015 respectively.

Freestyle BMX professional Coleborn continued to impress his worldwide fanbase last year with stunning shows of trickery across the globe, and his efforts were rewarded with a silver medal at the UCI BMX World Championships in Chengdu. He also competed at the International Nass Festival, and the Nitro World Games.

For O’Sullivan, 2017 will be remembered for a podium appearance for Team GB at the Archery World Cup in Berlin, although a best-ever finish of 17th at the World Championships in Mexico City will rank just as favourably. The 27-year-old signed off in November with the Back-to-Back British indoor title.

The Chalmers family will also be represented by Cameron’s younger brother Alastair, as he lines up for the PraxisIFM Rising Star Award alongside Jersey duo Ed Fossey and Cameron Pirouet and Sarnian racing driver Seb Priaulx.

The Waves Team of the Year Award will be presented to one of five worthy contenders, who include UK league winners Guernsey Raiders Ladies, World Cricket League Division 5 champions Jersey Cricket, British & Irish Cup finalists Jersey Reds and World Coastal Rowing Championships representatives Jersey Rowing Club.Victoria College Prep’s football team are also on the shortlist, following their superb Danone Nations Cup success last spring.

The Source Recruitment Coach of the Year Award 2017 will be presented to an exceptional CI coach from a strong pool, which includes Guernsey Ladies rugby coach Chris Griffiths, Jersey special gymnastics coach Yana Vibert, Guernsey’s Rovers football coach Jez Robin and Guernsey boxing coach Ben Duff.

Also to be awarded will be the Michael Lucas Sporting Hero Award, and a special Judges Award for Achievement.

Voting for the Sports Personality of the Year will remain open until 10 pm, with the event being shown live on ITV at 8.30 pm and 10.40 pm.

Jason Fox

By Jason Fox


Top Stories


More from the JEP


UK & International News