Jersey seek to banish any complacency success

JERSEY’S golfers dare not be complacent as they host Guernsey this weekend, despite aiming to keep their hands on the inter-insular trophy for a fifth year in succession, writes Andy Bradshaw.

Hugo Jacques - so consistent
Hugo Jacques - so consistent

That’s the stark warning from non-playing captain Darren Attwood, who has included three new faces in his ten-man team for the Ravenscroft Challenge Trophy match at La Moye Golf Club.

Attwood, now in his second year at the helm, said: ‘The Seniors’ win against Jersey last weekend will breed confidence for Guernsey when they come here – two of their seniors who played are in their main Island side and they will be looking to win again.

‘Home advantage or not, we will not be taking anything for granted. Eight years ago I was assistant captain when Guernsey won at La Moye and I remember it well.

‘Our team are up for the match and I hope the golfing community comes out to support them.

‘We’ve new faces in Sam Vautier, Sam Jaakola and Hugo Jacques, but they deserve their places – Sam Vautier is Island champion; Sam Jaakola is Island strokeplay champion; while Hugo has been so consistent this year – dropping his handicap by 1½ shots. That’s no mean feat when you are playing off two handicap.

‘They played in the CI scratch weekend recently and all performed extremely well.

‘I’m sure they won’t be fazed by anything this weekend and they’ll all be chomping at the bit to do well.’

Jersey retained the silverware 12 months ago courtesy of a ten-all draw at L’Ancresse.

Attwood added: ‘It was too close for comfort last year. We required three-and-a-half points out of ten in the singles and we could not get over the line.

‘Golf is about who plays well on the day and momentum plays a part as well. But momentum shifts too. You can be doing well and it turns on a sixpence and when that happens you find yourself up against it.

‘We’ve got a lot of experienced golfers as well and hopefully that experience will help us to keep hold of the trophy for another year.’

Jersey: Alex Guelpa, Josef Hacker, Sam Jaakola, Hugo Jacques, Charlie Kiberd, Matthew Parkman, Jeremy Phillips, Richard Ramskill, Jason Stokes and Sam Vautier.

Guernsey: Danny Bisson, Danny Blondel, Jamie Blondel, Tim Carter, Steve Mahy, Daniel Griggs, Tom Le Huray, Mick Marley, Nigel Vaudin and CJ Elmy.

Most Read

Top Stories

More From The Jersey Evening Post

UK & International News