Terry Le Sueur is Chief Minister

News | Published:

Senator Terry Le Sueur is the Island's new Chief Minister.

He was elected by States Members in a secret ballot today, winning 36 votes compared to 17 gained by newly-elected Senator Alan Breckon. They were the only two candidates to have come forward to replace Frank Walker as the head of the Council of Ministers.

Both Senator Le Sueur, the Treasury Minister for the last three years, and Senator Breckon, the Jersey Consumer Council chairman, gave speeches to the House before being questioned by their colleagues.

The States met this morning after existing and newly-elected Members had taken their oath of office in the Royal Court. They return on Thursday to elect Ministers and chairmen of committees and scrutiny panels.

• Full report in Tuesday's Jersey Evening Post.

Sorry, we are not accepting comments on this article.


Top Stories


More from the JEP


UK & International News