Le Noa and Volante cruise home

TOP SEEDS Ross Le Noa and Dominic Volante dominated the Ernie Le Feuvre L’Etacq Attack Rally with a masterful display of driving on Saturday.

In their powerful Ford Escort Mk II, the pair recorded the fastest time on all bar one of the stages, and even as the rain fell for the last two rounds Le Noa continued confidently to top spot on the podium. Second place fell to the victors’ brother, Simon Le Noa, with Katie Le Blancq reading the maps in their unusual Ford Anglia rally car. They were some 18 seconds slower at the finish, while the battle for third went to the wire with Neil Cotillard and Helier Lucas determined to make it their own – by just 2.6 seconds from number two seeds Darryl Morris with Steve Gully.

Morris and Gully were fastest on stage three, but were unable to match the pace of the Le Noas. They did, however, take the class win for ‘up to 2-litre cars’.

With wins now in both Guernsey and Jersey, Le Noa and co-driver Volante have set a high standard for the remaining Jersey Rally event – to be held in October.

Matching their seeding, Kevin and Sue Fossey – returning to the event they had last won in 2011 – completed the top five and with it took the class win for ‘over 2-litre cars’ in their powerful Ford Escort Mark II. Changing to ‘wets’ for the final runs was enough for them to hold off top Guernsey crew, Dale Crowsley and John Vaudin, in their unusual Mazda MX5.

Three more rear-wheel-drive cars featured strongly in the top ten throughout the day. John and Jason Le Brun drove the BMW E30 to seventh, falling back slightly when rain fell towards the end of the day, while the 2-litre Escort of Ron Allen and Derek Le Bailly was two seconds adrift at the end after a close battle. John Le Noa and Daniel Drakes took ninth overall – and the Handbrake Trophy for Le Noa’s exuberant driving style.

Current JMC & LCC rally championship leaders, Tim Alderson and Peter Villars, had a good day until a tight right sent them off the course – leaving them unable to continue.

Among the 32 starters were several rally novices making their debut. Although both Carl Le Cornu/Matthew Godfray and Sam Bingle/Matt Le Brun in their similar Citroen Saxos had challenges with the first stage, they were able to complete the event. Le Cornu and Godfray also won the Spirit of the Rally Award for their determined approach.

Sadly, the third Citroen Saxo of Nathan Rault and Sian Baudains suffered loss of oil with gearbox damage and had to retire. The challenge of the oil on the track was managed successfully by the other crews.

With the event split by class, the smaller engine cars had objectives in their sights. It was the Nova of Stuart Thompson and Mike Nield which took 1400 cc honours by just six seconds from the immaculate Mk I Escort of Paul Vibert and Elvis Romeril. Euan and Samantha Dangerfield took third in their Nova. The 1600 cc honours went to the combined CI crew of Paul Trebert from Guernsey and Andy de la Cour in the immaculate Peugeot 206 – almost a minute ahead of Bingle/Le Brun and Le Cornu/Godfray.

  • L’Etacq Attack – results

1 Ross Le Noa/Dominic Volante (Escort) 10 min 14.6 sec

2 Simon Le Noa/Katie Le Blancq (Anglia) 10.32.0

3 Neil Cotillard/Helier Lucas (Subaru Impreza) 10.33.8

4 Darryl Morris/Steve Gully (Escort) 10.36.4

5 Kevin Fossey/Sue Fossey (Escort) 10.58.8

6 Dale Crowsley/John Vaudin (G) (Mazda MX5) 10.59.7

7 John Le Brun/Jason Le Brun (BMW E30) 11.00.1

8 Ron Allen/Derek Le Bailly (Escort) 11.02.1

9 John Le Noa/Daniel Drakes (Escort) 11.11.7

10 Matthew Sargeant/Alex da Conceicao (Mitsubishi Evo) 11.12.0

11 Mark Syvret/Chris Fox (Escort) 11.13.9

12 Kevin Rault/Dan Gallichan (Escort) 11.29.9

13 Matt Leggatt/Garry Toy (Escort) 11.33.5

14 Chris Cotillard/Jordan Neill (Subaru Impreza) 12.03.9

15 Kevin Rumens/Kay Taylor (Escort) 12.05.0

16 Paul Trebert (G)/Andy de La Cour (Peugeot 206) 12.07.4

17 Grant Collins/George Carter (Subaru Impreza) 12.07.4

18 Ryan Phillips/Leah Lloyd (Honda Civic) 12.11.3

19 Stuart Thompson/Mike Nield (Vauxhall Nova) 12.11.6

20 Ross Baudains/Drew Jones (BMW E30) 12.14.7

21 Paul Vibert/Elvis Romeril (Escort) 12.17.2

22 Stephen Le Brun/Richard Pallot (Escort RS2000) 12.26.3

23 Greg Kelly/Stuart Andrews (Renault Clio) 12.29.3

24 Jono Robilliard/Martyn Vidamour (G) (Peugeot 205) 12.51.1

25 Euan Dangerfield/Samantha Dangerfield (V/Nova) 12.53.6

26 Sam Bingle/Matt Le Brun (Citroen Saxo) 12.55.5

27 Brendan McLaughlin/Emma Falle (BMW Compact) 13.30.6

28 Carl Le Cornu/Matthew Godfrey (Citroen Saxo) 14.10.5

  • Award winners

First overall: Ross Le Noa/Domonic Volante. Second overall: Simon Le Noa/Katie Le Blancq. Third overall: Neil Cotillard/Helier Lucas. First class A (to 1.4): Stuart Thompson/Michael Nield. First class B (to 1.6): Paul Trebert/Andy de la Cour. First Class C (to 2l): Darryl Morris/Steve Gully. First Class D (over 2l): Kevin/Sue Fossey. First Class E (4WD): Matthew Sargeant/Alex de Conceicao. First Lady: Katie Le Blancq. Spirit of the Rally: Carl Le Cornu/Matthew Godfray. Handbrake Trophy: John Le Noa/Daniel Drakes. First FWD: Ryan Phillips/Leah Lloyd. First RWD: Dale Crowsley/John Vaudin. First FWD: Chris Cotillard/Jordan Neill.

Most Read

Top Stories

More From The Jersey Evening Post

UK & International News