Le Noa and Volante target L’Etacq Attack Rally success

Sport | Published:

Rallying returns to St Ouen with the 12th running of the always spectacular L’Etacq Attack tomorrow.

Overall winners of the Guernsey Rally, Ross le Noa, with navigator Dominic Volante, race on the sister isle’s St Peter’s West stage Picture: Andrew Le Poidevin

Supported by Ernie Le Feuvre, the Attack features eight timed stages on closed roads thanks to the permission and understanding of the Constable and parishioners of St Ouen.

The exciting field features many of the new rally drivers who completed the JMC and LCC driver training this year and are looking for good finishes in their first closed-road rally.

Ross Le Noa and Domonic Volante will lead the 34-strong field away in their powerful Escort – as winners of the inaugural Guernsey rally they will be looking to repeat that success.

However, they face a strong challenge from Darryl Morris and Steve Gully (Escort) and third seeds Simon Le Noa and Kate Le Blancq in the amazing Anglia with 2.3 Honda power.

Seeded fourth, Ron Allen and Derek Le Bailly have featured in the top five regularly, although John and Jason Le Brun (BMW) will give them strong competition.

Winners of the inaugural L’Etacq Attack, in 2006, Kevin and Sue Fossey are back with their 2.5-litre Escort and seeded fifth, just ahead of leading Guernsey crew Dale Crowsley and John Vaudin in the unusual Mazda MX5.

The top ten is rounded out with leading four-wheel-drive crew Neil Cotillard and Helier Lucas (Subaru Impreza); Kevin Rumens and Kay Taylor; and Mark Syvret with Chris Fox in their classic Escort (Mk 1).

Regular 1400 cc class winner Stuart Thompson/Mike Nield will thrill in the Nova and it’s also great to see seven ladies in the event – all co-driving this year.

Another Guernsey visitor, Paul Trébert, is leading seed in class B (up to to 1600 cc).


Top Stories


More from the JEP


UK & International News