Six Reds professionals drop down to Athletic

Rugby | Published:

JERSEY REDS director of rugby Harvey Biljon is ringing the changes as his side hope to bounce back from disappointment at the hands of Hartpury.

Janco Venter has retained his place in Jersey Reds' starting line-up, but six of the professional squad have dropped into the second team this week to play for Jersey Athletic Picture:DAVID FERGUSON (24220230)

The Reds lost 10-7 at home to the Championship strugglers last Saturday, with a last minute penalty proving the difference, but Biljon is keen to put the result behind him and look ahead to the test that awaits them tomorrow at Richmond.

The South African has switched five of his starting XV for the clubs’ fourth meeting this season, after being drawn together in the groups of the Championship Cup.

Six of the professional squad have dropped down into the second team this week to play for Jersey Athletic in the Zoo Sports Shield.

‘We are going to move on as quickly as we can’, said Biljon. ‘The best thing about rugby is that you are back out a week later with a new challenge in front of you and an opportunity to put things right.

‘Richmond is a tough place to go but we are used to travelling and I know we will have a great Jersey contingent coming with us. I think the players want to get out there and play – they just want the game to come as quickly as possible.’

Among the changes for the latest trip to the Athletic Ground is Liam Hallam-Eames, for a full debut in the second row, while stand-off Brett Herron moves to fullback in place of Leroy Van Dam.

Biljon said: ‘Some changes are due to form, some due to injury and some due to performance but the response from players in training has been excellent. The intensity has been high and the work rate has been phenomenal – there is a bit of anxiety and tension but that is to be expected.’

Full report in Friday's JEP.

Jersey Reds squad to face Richmond (1-15): Roy Godfrey, Charlie Maddison, Leeroy Atalifo, Jerry Sexton, Liam Hallam-Eames, Kyle Hatherell, Conor Joyce, Janco Venter; Liam Howley, Aaron Penberthy; Jason Worrall, Mark Best, Apakuki Ma’afu, Koch Marx, Brett Herron. Replacements: Harry Morley, Jack Macfarlane, Sam Rodman, Dave Mckern, Jake Upfield, Will Homer, George Eastwell.

Sorry, we are not accepting comments on this article.


Top Stories


More from the JEP


UK & International News