Advertising

Bulls to begin at home

Football | Published:

JERSEY BULLS players will begin their English football league careers with a home clash against Ash United, on Saturday 3 August.

Jersey Bulls will play at home on the opening day of their first season in Combined Counties League Division One

The new club, placed in Combined Counties League Division One for 2019/20, have been handed a debut tie on familiar turf as they prepare to become the first Island side to ply their trade on the other side of the Channel.

CCL officials have scheduled eight of Bulls’ fixtures early to aid travel and accommodation plans for visiting clubs, who under FA regulations will have their costs covered by the Caesareans.

Ash Utd – seventh in CCL Division One last season – will be followed to Springfield Stadium by tenth-tier rivals Fleet Spurs on Saturday 24 August, by which time the Bulls will have flown to the UK twice for back-to-back away fixtures.

Manager Gary Freeman and Co are set to meet FC Deportivo Galicia in the shadows of Heathrow Airport on Wednesday 14 August [7.45pm], before journeying towards Guildford on Saturday 17 August to face Godalming Town.

The Fleet Spurs fixture will be the first of two in three days, with an away trip to Westside on the cards for Bank Holiday Monday, 26 August.

As it stands, Jersey will play 38 league games in their first season but that could drop to 36 as the status of Frimley Green is still to be confirmed. The Surrey-based club were runners-up last term but were denied promotion by the England FA, who are responsible for regional league allocations. Instead, a side finishing third in a parallel league leapt up a tier. Frimley have lodged an appeal.

Bulls’ first friendly fixture is against League Two side Stevenage, at Springfield on 6 July.

Confirmed Jersey Bulls fixtures

Advertising

Sat 3 Aug: home v Ash Utd

Sat 10 Aug: No fixture

Wed 14 Aug: away v FC Deportivo Galicia (7.45pm)

Sat 17 Aug: away v Godalming Town

Advertising

Sat 24 Aug: home v Fleet Spurs

Mon 26 Aug: away v Westside

Sat 31 Aug: FA Vase first qualifying round*

Sat 7 Sept: home v Bagshot

Sat 14 Sept: FA Vase 2nd qualifying round*

Sat 21 Sept: home v Eversley & California

Sat 28 Sept: home v AFC Hayes

*Fixture to be arranged if Bulls do not enter FA Vase.

Jason Fox

By Jason Fox
author

Sorry, we are not accepting comments on this article.

Advertising

Top Stories

Advertising

More from the JEP

UK & International News